Happy Holidays!

The holiday season can be a time of wonder and enchantment, which can make for some magical photos. December 23 I made my way into NYC after a long day at work to take some holiday shots. Needless to say, the city was swarmed with tourists and natives visiting the sites in hope to gather some more holiday cheer.

I was able to get some decent shots while navigating the busy crowds. I mainly shot with my two go to lenses, my 28mm f/2.8 and my 50mm f/1.8, which provided me with a fast shutter and didn’t cost me much when it came to lighting, despite the fact that I was shooting around 8p.m. Below are some of the shots from my mini adventure!

Bokeh from the Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree.

Lights around the city can make such wonderful bokeh sometimes.

This was intentionally taken like this. I was on a bit of a bokeh binge and I didn't want to make the tress completely unrecognizable.

NBC Studio's Rainbow Room.

Light statue near Radio City Music Hall.

Times Square.

Ornament statue.

St. Patrick's Cathedral.

The following day was Christmas Eve, which in my family, is an adventure in itself. There was so much food and it was a time to celebrate. For the first time in many years we have a baby in the family. This Christmas will be my nephew’s first Christmas and I took some photos of him opening his presents.

That's my brother, Billy, and my nephew, William, and his first present of the night.

My nephew, William.

Later on this week I’m going to start posting my favorite photos of 2011, so stay tuned for that.

I hope everyone has a safe and wonderful holiday.

Leave a Reply

